Rebellion and Lucifer's downfall
The frescoes in the dome depicting the rebellion and Lucifer’s downfall are the work of Carlo Carlone. Among the frescoes, we also find images of the Evangelists and Doctors of the church. Above the lantern are four Hebrew letters (yod, he, waw, he), which in the Old Testament signified the Name of God.
The Baroque Corpus Christi Chapel, also known as the Elector Chapel, adjacent to the north-east tower, was built between 1716 and 1724. The chapel was founded as his mausoleum by Bishop Ludwig Franz von Pfalz-Neuburg, who, while bishop of Trier and Mainz, was one of the Electors of the German Reich – hence the name of the chapel. It was designed by the famous Viennese architect Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach. The painting decoration was done by Carlo Carlone, the sculptural work is by Ferdinand Maximilian Brokoff.
The decoration of the altar as well as the entire cathedral is a unique reference to the tradition of the Old Testament and its fulfilment in the New. Thus, in the main altar one can see Moses and Aaron and in the central place the Ark of the Covenant. On the opposite side of the altar next to Jesus on the cross is Moses. Among the decorations in the chapel, the paintings by Johann Franz de Backer are particularly noteworthy.
This chapel too has a dome with a lantern set on a drum with an elliptical projection. Maria Kazimiera Sobieska, granddaughter of John III Sobieski, is buried in the chapel.